will the ssw's work with the crossovers? Their ohms are different...
![]() |
|
This is a discussion on crystal SSCS 5 1/4's....... within the Audio/Video Electronics forums, part of the General Discussion category; it was brought to my attention of someone selling 6 sets of crystal sscs 5 1/4's on ebay. i didn't ...
it was brought to my attention of someone selling 6 sets of crystal sscs 5 1/4's on ebay. i didn't think crystal had released any yet so i called them for an update. i will quote what doug (owner) had to tell me...
"........tell them to order 20 sets and i'll buy the other 19 so we can have some too".
aka- crystal doesn't make an sscs 5 1/4 set. the only thing i can think of, IF the ebay seller does ship an "sscs 5" set, is that they're putting the ssw 5 1/4 along with crystals tweeters and claiming it as a component set that it isn't. and doug also tells me that the cost to make a 5 1/4 set is only a few $ less than a 6" set. so he doesn't forsee making the 5 set anytime soon.
more update, there isn't an ssw 6 yet. there is the sscs 6 available by itself.
crystal is also contemplating (due to dealer input) making a stamped steel basket option available on the sscs components. it will be a little cheaper and won't have the huge OD that their cast basket has. all other parts will the same as used on the cast basket sscs 6.
will the ssw's work with the crossovers? Their ohms are different...
2000 ECSB, 5.3, magna flow cat back, some beat in the back and a killer front stage
exactly. they'll work, but they won't be right.
who know's if that seller even has anything to sell at all.
the seller even has an egay store.
car stereo wharehouse
spread the word, they lie and scam, don't buy anything from them.
Good looking out Larry...
**My Little Roots Rocka**
Here is the link: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=9719752193
But the SSW5.25" driver utilizes a standard magnet structure right? In his Ebay description, he states the 5.25" driver utilizes the NRT motor...
**My Little Roots Rocka**
yes, the sscs line is an nrt motor and the ssw is ferrite.
i signed up with ebay, just to trash talk them for what ever crap they're trying to pull. i also reported them for trying to sell something never made. they seem to have a good track record, but how any people did they get over on and the person not know any better. here's what he replied back...
SCAM? What kind of jerk are you.
We deal direct with a brick and mortar crystal dealer. This 2006 model is sitting on our shelf.
Want to buy one?
notice in their write up, they claim to be an "authorized internet dealer". but here he says he deals direct with a dealer. which makes him not authorized to handle crystal product at all!
Last edited by 95stroked1500; 05-31-2006 at 08:59 AM.
What does ebay have to say about this? They usually don't take too well to vendors who out-and-out lie to customers.
What's the status on the 6.5" group buy, or are you gonna try and sell us 5.25's now? JK!
'99 Tahoe - Whitey
'03 Tahoe - Blackey
Originally Posted by thekl0wn
![]()
damian has 3 people out of like 10 interested from another board, that threw down some $ so far and a couple here that are interested.
what GB?
2000 ECSB, 5.3, magna flow cat back, some beat in the back and a killer front stage
well, it didn't start out as one. the story basicly breaks down like this...
i have a couple guys on here looking to get some crystals. then damian pm'd me that there's some guys on another forum interested and if i could take care of them. so i got the bright idea, that if i could just do one order with everybody together at once, i'd be able to get a master carton price break and turn around and give that break right to the guys buying. so i guess it's kind of turned into an unplanned GB.
can you pm me how much yall got them going for? I may be interested...Originally Posted by 95stroked1500
2000 ECSB, 5.3, magna flow cat back, some beat in the back and a killer front stage
Put me down for a set in the GB larry. I will paypal the money whenever you are ready just pm me an address.
Dance around the b@$t@rd$, protect your allies and always trust yourself first.
If you insist on burning the flag, please wrap yourself in it first!
10-4
did you end up scoring those used comp 12's you were asking my opinion on?
haven't got a final answer yet, but if he says yes it's a go. He was asking 100 each plus shipping like 3 weeks ago, listed em on ebay 3 times for that price and couldn't sell them. I just want him to hurry and pm me back but I don't know if he frequents those forums as often.
Dance around the b@$t@rd$, protect your allies and always trust yourself first.
If you insist on burning the flag, please wrap yourself in it first!
if the subs aren't hurt, i can't believe no one grabbed them @ $100 ea. that's like turning over a rock and finding a gold nugget.
[QUOTE=thekl0wn]What does ebay have to say about this? They usually don't take too well to vendors who out-and-out lie to customers.
QUOTE]
update- 3 days later the auction is still going. i got the confirmation that ebay was going to look into it. but they do not inform of their findings. i even gave them crystal's phone # to call incase they didn't want to believe me.
the shop that this person is in cahoots with is "sounds great custom stereo" in new jersey.
here's another thing i found interesting about some other places. it's pretty bad when a site is specifically named for being scammers.......
http://www.zapco.com/ZapcoBuyersBeware.htm
Bookmarks