If you are not able to login to the forum, please Contact Us here to let us know. Thanks!

Support FSC and see no ads! - Click Here

2007 Silverado-replacing speakers

This is a discussion on 2007 Silverado-replacing speakers within the Audio/Video Electronics forums, part of the General Discussion category; I'm new at this, and this is my first post and first GM vehicle, so if something I say makes ...

2007 Silverado-replacing speakers

Support FSC and see no ads! - Click Here
    I'm new at this, and this is my first post and first GM vehicle, so if something I say makes no sense, don't be surprised. I just bought a new Silverado ext. cab with a stock system. Not the Bose upgrade. I'm easy to please, but this is unbearable. I feel I need new speakers all the way around. There is no good stereo place here that I trust. I do not want to replace the head unit, nor do I want to install an amp or sub. Please keep that in mind. My specific questions are: Is there a built in crossover somewhere for the fronts? There are tweeters in the pillars but I have not yet been able to pull them out far enough to see the ends of the wiring. All I have gotten from GM is this meaningless statement, "The tweeters are crossed over to the front door speakers and that uses one channel".

Can I just buy a component set and replace the fronts? Would I be better off just putting new two-ways in the doors? If so, what do I do with those pillar tweeters? How tough is it to take off the door panels with electric windows? I have done this to a Dodge Dakota in the past with very few problems. If I replace the fronts, do I bother with the rears at all?

Re: 2007 Silverado-replacing speakers

First off is the truck the newest body style, or a classic?
    '99 Tahoe - Whitey
    '03 Tahoe - Blackey

Quote Originally Posted by thekl0wn
    First off is the truck the newest body style, or a classic?

Sorry...it's the new body style.