If you are not able to login to the forum, please Contact Us here to let us know. Thanks!

Support FSC and see no ads! - Click Here

How to hook up two amps?

This is a discussion on How to hook up two amps? within the Audio/Video Electronics forums, part of the General Discussion category; Hey guys, i'm new to car audio, and I am wanting to install 2 6.5" door speakers in my 96 ...

How to hook up two amps?

Support FSC and see no ads! - Click Here
    Hey guys, i'm new to car audio, and I am wanting to install 2 6.5" door speakers in my 96 swb sierra. I already have a crappy 200 watt amp and 10" sub. From what I have read and figured out, it is best to leave that the way it is and buy a new amp to power the speakers. So....my question is, what is the best way to wire the new amp up to my headset?

Thanks

Poor college student Exalted512's Avatar

Re: How to hook up two amps?

It depends on the size of the wire and the size of the amp really.

You can run 2 separate power wires, or, if the power wire you have now is big enough, you can use a distribution block to split the power wire to your 2 amps. You will need to run a new RCA either way.

-Cody
    04 GMC
    system in the works:
    Pioneer DEH-940MP, RF T8002 on Peerless XLS 8" midbasses, RF T8004 on DLS Iridium 3" midrange and tweeter, RF T40001 on 2 Adire Brahma 12s, RF 360.2 processor

Quote Originally Posted by Exalted512
    It depends on the size of the wire and the size of the amp really.

You can run 2 separate power wires, or, if the power wire you have now is big enough, you can use a distribution block to split the power wire to your 2 amps. You will need to run a new RCA either way.

-Cody

alright...I am probably just going to run 2 seperate power wires. But for the RCA, I already have one running to the head and thats all I can plug into it. So....how would I go about having 2 different ones? Is it just as simple as getting a splitter that branches the wire off 2 ways?