If you are not able to login to the forum, please Contact Us here to let us know. Thanks!

Support FSC and see no ads! - Click Here

Need pros, cons on 6.6 D-max

This is a discussion on Need pros, cons on 6.6 D-max within the Duramax Forum forums, part of the General Discussion category; I am new to the diesel truck world. Looking at purchasing a '03 Silverado 3500 with a 6.6 Duramax diesel ...

Need pros, cons on 6.6 D-max

Support FSC and see no ads! - Click Here
    I am new to the diesel truck world. Looking at purchasing a '03 Silverado 3500 with a 6.6 Duramax diesel and a Allison 5 spd trans (it's a 2wd crew cab dually)
    to pull my 26' enclosed race car trailer.... what can you diesel gurus tell me about this power train? Good, bad, or indifferent?
    Thanks in advance..

Re: Need pros, cons on 6.6 D-max

No one running this engine??????

...Collecting Parts...

There's plenty of people running a Dmax.
    For the most part, I've seen nothing but good reviews. Each engine has it's own set of issues though.
    For the 03 you're looking at, the weak point was the injectors. I've heard that if they haven't been replaced, you really need to look into doing that.
    For the most part though, I think you'll be happy with the Dmax for your needs. Like all diesels, they will pull like there's no tomorrow.
    92 Chevy 1500 W/T: 4.3 V6, 2wd, Big plans as soon as I have the cash to back it...

91 Pontiac Bonneville LE: Sold.
    Now there's more money for the truck!

Great motor and great tranny, in stock form. If you plan on adding more than 100hp, look into upgrading the tranny. As said before, if the injectors havn't been changed out it will need them. The early duramax motors wern't designed to run on the low sulfer fuel that is now at all the stations, and this takes its toll on the injectors. Anymore it is getting hard to find '03 duramax motors that havn't had the injectors done, unless the truck has very low miles.