***Login to the Forum here ***

Support FSC and see no ads! - Click Here
Results 1 to 9 of 9

HELP with "Tire Pressure" monitor on 04' Tahoe

This is a discussion on HELP with "Tire Pressure" monitor on 04' Tahoe within the Exterior Tech forums, part of the General Discussion category; Hey guys, I'm having trouble with my "tire pressure" monitor on my 2004 Tahoe. I have 22'' wheels and I ...

  1. #1
    04TAHOE LOGAN2575's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Stockton, CA
    Age
    32
    Posts
    430

    HELP with "Tire Pressure" monitor on 04' Tahoe


    Support FSC and see no ads! - Click Here
    Hey guys,

    I'm having trouble with my "tire pressure" monitor on my 2004 Tahoe. I have 22'' wheels and I made sure the stock sensors were installed on the new wheels. The problem is that everytime I start my tahoe, the "check tire pressure" message displays in the message center. It has become quite irritating and I am very anxious to fix this problem. I've already been back to the place that I bought the tires/wheels from and the guy seemed to know how to fix it. He simply turned the light switch on/off 4 times quickly and then deflated the air out of each tire until the horn honked. This worked and we thought the problem was fixed. Although I was half way home from the tire store and the damn message came back on. I thought I would ask you guys whether you've ran into this problem at all. Please let me know if you have any solutions.

    Thanks-

  2. #2
    :-) Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Franklin, Texas
    Age
    38
    Posts
    7,357

    Re: HELP with "Tire Pressure" monitor on 04' Tahoe

    That may have reset it, but it may have to be reprogrammed at the dealership or he is not doing it correctly. I thought it honked twice when the coreect airpressure was reached. Once was to recognize the sensor and two was the right pressure was set. I may be wrong. but I'll check with my service dept. later and see for sure.

    GARAGE:
    03 Yukon
    02 Tahoe "HDHOE"
    09 Malibu
    00 Impala
    94 Z71
    55 Chevy Stepside

  3. #3
    IMFKNLO GMCBlack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Lafayette, LA.
    Age
    25
    Posts
    225

    Re: HELP with "Tire Pressure" monitor on 04' Tahoe

    my friends denali did the same thing they tried messin with it but he had 26's and it kept messin up so he just left it

  4. #4
    just two more bucks...
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Arlington, TX
    Age
    32
    Posts
    295

    Re: HELP with "Tire Pressure" monitor on 04' Tahoe

    Is there a way to just disconnect it? My friend left the sensors off of her wheels when she had her 22s put on.
    2006 Chevy Crew 2wd

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    78

    Re: HELP with "Tire Pressure" monitor on 04' Tahoe

    The tire pressure monitoring system can't be disabled very easily. I was never able to come up with a way to disable it on my '05 Tahoe.

    Read this:
    http://www.chevyavalanchefanclub.com...540.0/all.html

    2001 Silverado - Rebuild Completed KP 6-Link, ART arms, 20" Intro V-Rod Wheels, 5.3L, K&N FIPK, MagnaFlow Exhaust, Wait4Me Tune
    2005 Tahoe LT: 2/3 Belltech Drop, 20" Boyd Coddington Wheels, 5.3L, K&N FIPK, Wait4Me Tune

  6. #6
    Registered User muttman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    40
    Posts
    175

    Re: HELP with "Tire Pressure" monitor on 04' Tahoe

    Mark - what did the service department say about this?
    06 Tahoe LT Silver Birch - Installed items Billet Grill & Bowtie (Grills4u), Projector Headlights (TYC), Clear Corners (IPCW), FloorMats (Catch-All)Escalade Bezel,
    Volant CAI, JL Stealth Sub, JL 250/1 amp

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Laconia, NH
    Posts
    41

    Re: HELP with "Tire Pressure" monitor on 04' Tahoe

    Regarding resetting the system: It should only need to be reset when the wheels are rotated, or, as you had done, the sensors were placed in new wheels. The reason why, is that each sensor has a 'signature' that the vehicle expects to be in a certain position.

    Once the system was readied to be reset, the car honked, and the tech had five minutes to either increase or lower the pressure in each tire. After each tire, there should have been a honk or some other indicator noise from your truck to show that the wheel has been accepted into the new position.

    Obviously, the tires should have been set to the correct pressure after completing this process. Something to keep in mind, is that the tire air chucks used to inflate tires have a gauge on them, which is accurate to within 2 pounds. If that gauge is reading high, then the actual pressure would be low. Also, if you require lower pressure for the new tires than the stock ones would be set at, that would also cause the warning message.

    If lower pressure is required for those tires(you can compare the desired pressure to the stock pressure on the sticker on the drivers door/door jam), or if the message will not clear with the proper pressure, I would recommend returning to the dealership and have them adjust the system.
    1996 Chevy 1500 4x2, 4.3 Vortec, 5 Spd Manual, 196K miles

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    SouthFl
    Posts
    14

    Re: HELP with "Tire Pressure" monitor on 04' Tahoe

    Hey guys...there has never been a clear answer on what the factory reset procedure is. I know there are techs on this forum that work for chevy....why can't we get a straight answer on how to solve this common problem??

  9. #9
    Registered User gmsales2006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Eastern Shore of Maryland
    Age
    45
    Posts
    114

    Re: HELP with "Tire Pressure" monitor on 04' Tahoe

    Check your owner's manual, the procedure is listed in it. If your 22" wheels don't run the same pressures as the factory wheels, you may have to check into getting something programmed. (I don't know if that is even possible)
    2006 GMC Vortec Max Crew Cab, 6" Superlift bracket, 35" Dirt Grips, Corsa exhaust

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •