If you are not able to login to the forum, please Contact Us here to let us know. Thanks!

Support FSC and see no ads! - Click Here

Want to change from 3.73 to 3.42 gears in a Z71

This is a discussion on Want to change from 3.73 to 3.42 gears in a Z71 within the Offroad forums, part of the General Discussion category; Hi all, I have a 1997 Silverado Z71 with push-button 4WD (electronic transfer case, option NP1), and it has the ...

Want to change from 3.73 to 3.42 gears in a Z71

Support FSC and see no ads! - Click Here
    Hi all, I have a 1997 Silverado Z71 with push-button 4WD (electronic transfer case, option NP1), and it has the 3.73 gear ratios. It also has the G80 rear diff. Without going into a long-winded explanation, let's just get down to business and say I want 3.42 gears instead. I probably have a little more car knowledge than the average joe schmoe, but I am by no means an expert.

For the front differential, I know that in junkyards and on eBay I could find a 3.42 front axle diff. Would switching out the front diff be a pretty straightforward operation?

For the rear G80 diff, would it just be a matter of switching the ring & pinion gears? Or would I have to get another G80 diff specifically for 3.42 gears?

Thanks in advance for any help and advice!

Cheers...

Lifes tough, Get a helmet Public Nuisance's Avatar

Re: Want to change from 3.73 to 3.42 gears in a Z71

For the rear the cheapest route would be to find an entire axle with the 3.42's and a G80. Then swap the entire thing and sell your old one. You could swap ring and pinion, but then you need to set them up, which you'll probably have to pay someone to do.

Can I ask why you would want to switch from 3.73's to 3.42's?

Made by Duragas8.1. Thanks again!
    Truck Show Nation
    Facebook

i would swap diffs completely front and rear. theres to many 3.42 set ups floating around make it easy on yourself and you dont want the G80 anyway.
    37X13X15 BOGGERS FOR SALE