If you are not able to login to the forum, please Contact Us here to let us know. Thanks!

Support FSC and see no ads! - Click Here
Results 1 to 12 of 12

1" Throttle body spacer need linkage spacers?

This is a discussion on 1" Throttle body spacer need linkage spacers? within the Performance forums, part of the General Discussion category; I find that some places are saying these don't need the spacers for the linkage/cables. Is that true? i read ...

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    388

    1" Throttle body spacer need linkage spacers?


    Support FSC and see no ads! - Click Here
    I find that some places are saying these don't need the spacers for the linkage/cables. Is that true? i read about someone ruining their trans by not running on so I don't want to do the same

  2. #2
    WV Jeeper 94_c/1500's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    West Virginia
    Age
    23
    Posts
    4,168

    Re: 1" Throttle body spacer need linkage spacers?

    Never heard of having to extend your linkage on a TBI. I did have to raise the linkage mount on my carb motor when I added a spacer.

  3. #3
    JoshTheCanadian
    Guest

    Re: 1" Throttle body spacer need linkage spacers?

    you dont have to.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    388

    Re: 1" Throttle body spacer need linkage spacers?

    Ok, well I saw this:
    The throttle linkages/tv cable were on a bad angle with the spacer. CFM-Tech included spacers and bolts just for this reason and they worked excellent.
    This is why I mentioned about the spacers for the cables. Here is the post:
    http://www.fullsizechevy.com/forums/...-thoughts.html

    Anyone? Is the CFM tech spacer the only one that includes these? Why would they include them if they were not needed
    Last edited by maxpower_454; 01-07-2010 at 07:51 PM.

  5. #5
    WV Jeeper 94_c/1500's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    West Virginia
    Age
    23
    Posts
    4,168

    Re: 1" Throttle body spacer need linkage spacers?

    I bet it makes the company look better if it comes with more stuff, so you feel better spending extra money on their spacer.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    388

    Re: 1" Throttle body spacer need linkage spacers?

    Ok. if no one else needed them I'll just go for the cheapy on ebay. If it comes down to it, I can always make something to lift up the cables.

  7. #7
    WV Jeeper 94_c/1500's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    West Virginia
    Age
    23
    Posts
    4,168

    Re: 1" Throttle body spacer need linkage spacers?

    When I put a spacer on my carb truck I used a 1 inch spacer from Tractor Supply under the bracket and I got an inch longer bolt.

  8. #8
    Registered User nufnuffz28's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    258

    Re: 1" Throttle body spacer need linkage spacers?

    The throttle is OK without any additional spacers. Worst part is loosening the bracket that holds the fuel lines to the bell housing so that you can bolt the TBI back down.

    Make sure you readjust the TV cable. There are instructions on here on how to do it easily.

  9. #9
    WV Jeeper 94_c/1500's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    West Virginia
    Age
    23
    Posts
    4,168

    Re: 1" Throttle body spacer need linkage spacers?

    I used fuel line extensions, so I didn't loosen any bolts on the bellhousing.

    And I didn't need to adjust anything.

  10. #10
    JoshTheCanadian
    Guest

    Re: 1" Throttle body spacer need linkage spacers?

    Quote Originally Posted by 94_c/1500 View Post
    I used fuel line extensions, so I didn't loosen any bolts on the bellhousing.

    And I didn't need to adjust anything.
    Cause you dont have a 700R4

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    388

    Re: 1" Throttle body spacer need linkage spacers?

    Ok. If all i have to do is adjust the TV cable, that's no big deal

  12. #12
    Registered User ALLOUTODA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    10

    Re: 1" Throttle body spacer need linkage spacers?

    i have a TBI with a 1"poweraid spacer, my cables are on a bad angle and the kit did not come with any other parts, it looks like the braket needs to come up as much as the spacer i put on, it having truble coming out of O.D, can anyone help plz
    Last edited by ALLOUTODA; 04-03-2010 at 02:17 AM.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •