***Login to the Forum here ***

Support FSC and see no ads! - Click Here
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 80

How To: TBI to Carb and 4L60E Control

This is a discussion on How To: TBI to Carb and 4L60E Control within the Carbureted forums, part of the Performance category; Originally Posted by 93ChevyTBI How bad does fuel economy suffer from tbi to carb? 2 mpg? Originally Posted by Doober ...

  1. #21
    FastOrange BlacK20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Williams Lake, BC!
    Age
    22
    Posts
    2,250

    Re: How To: TBI to Carb and 4L60E Control


    Support FSC and see no ads! - Click Here
    Quote Originally Posted by 93ChevyTBI View Post
    How bad does fuel economy suffer from tbi to carb? 2 mpg?
    Quote Originally Posted by Doober View Post
    All depends on what you've done to the engine...
    exactly, and your driving style, etc...


    1978 K20 RCLB, 400 SBC, 4-Speed, Lifted
    1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GT, Coupe

  2. #22
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Florida
    Age
    23
    Posts
    190

    Re: How To: TBI to Carb and 4L60E Control

    TCI has a remote cable operated tps for use with the ez-tcu trans controller if you're going down that road, that's the setup I have and it works pretty good once you dial it in.

  3. #23
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Florida
    Age
    23
    Posts
    190

    Re: How To: TBI to Carb and 4L60E Control

    My mpg's went down SLIGHTLY when going from stock tbi to a 355 With a huge cam, ported and polished vortecs, and a 750 vacuum secondary. If you drive like a sane person most of the time the secondaries won't open up and you will be fine. I get about 10 city driving it like I stole it.

  4. #24
    Registered User Doober's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Catalina, AZ/Swartz Creek, MI
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,586

    Re: How To: TBI to Carb and 4L60E Control

    You would sacrifice very little top end with a 600, and the efficiency of the Vortecs with a cam likely made up for the poor flow of an as-cast TBI 350... plus 10mpg isn't much to write home about to start with. What cam are you running?
    Last edited by Doober; 06-09-2012 at 01:24 PM.

    '92 Sierra (TBI 383/Vortecs/Comp 08-412-8/EBL/4L60/3.08s), '78 Malibu (Vortec'd 350/4-speed/2.29s), '87 Pontiac Fiero GT (2.8 v6/5-speed)


  5. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Florida
    Age
    23
    Posts
    190

    Re: How To: TBI to Carb and 4L60E Control

    The engine came with a dyno sheet that specified running a 750, I know it's a little big but I figured it's best to stick with manufacturer recommendations. It's a .520 lift .228 duration hydraulic roller with 113ls. The sheet said with a 750 carb and accel hei dynoed at 412hp 442tq and spins up to 6200. I have it geared too much and the tcu set pretty aggressive, so that combined with the traffic and my driving gives me about 10. Highway is still about 20 sometimes more

  6. #26
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Waterford, pa
    Posts
    9

    Re: How To: TBI to Carb and 4L60E Control

    This is a question for black20 because he's been where I'm going...though anyone who else may know please input! 385 stroker in my buddies 95' 1500 Chevy with the 4l60e. Won't go into first or overdrive just like you were explaining above. But my question is that I took every ENGINE sensor out and I'm wondering if all I have to do is plug the purple/white wire into the tach and be done? Or do I need to put some of the sensors that were up on the motor back on. Appreciate it! It is carbureted btw

  7. #27
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Florida
    Age
    23
    Posts
    190

    Re: How To: TBI to Carb and 4L60E Control

    Sounds like a shift solenoid or maybe you didn't hook up the throttle position sensor or its a bad tranny. That's all I can think of, are you running a trans controller or any means of communicating engine info to the trans now that it's carbureted?
    Last edited by bamfsilverado; 09-29-2012 at 03:08 AM.
    1993 Chevy c1500 silverado, 2/4 drop, 2" cowl, roll pan, shaved, 357ci 4 bolt, .520/.228 hydraulic roller, dart iron vortecs ported & polished, 750 carb, 412hp 442 tq, ez-tcu, 4L60E 2200 stall, 3.73 posi

    ***SOLD***

  8. #28
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Waterford, pa
    Posts
    9

    Re: How To: TBI to Carb and 4L60E Control

    Nothing connected to tranny from motor except the kickdown cable. What do I need to hook up to make it shift right.

  9. #29
    Registered User Doober's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Catalina, AZ/Swartz Creek, MI
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,586

    Re: How To: TBI to Carb and 4L60E Control

    If it has a cable it's not a 4L60E and doesn't use the computer to shift. The only computer controlled thing would be the lockup converter, if it is in fact a 4L60 (no E). If it is a 4L60, that cable MUST be adjusted right or you risk burning the trans up. TH350/400 doesn't work the same.

    '92 Sierra (TBI 383/Vortecs/Comp 08-412-8/EBL/4L60/3.08s), '78 Malibu (Vortec'd 350/4-speed/2.29s), '87 Pontiac Fiero GT (2.8 v6/5-speed)


  10. #30
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Waterford, pa
    Posts
    9

    Re: How To: TBI to Carb and 4L60E Control

    I KNEW it. This is what happens when you listen to your no-it-all buddy. But, the tv cable doesn't go directly into the transmission it goes into an electric looking box on the firewall. And I've adjusted many of tv cables and there is no difference when you adjust this one. Plus there wires going down to the tranny from distributor...that's not a 700r4 I've ver worked on. But I don't claim to know about anything except engines. Thanks for the replies man

  11. #31
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Florida
    Age
    23
    Posts
    190

    Re: How To: TBI to Carb and 4L60E Control

    It's probably a remote tps not a kickdown, I have one on mine. Does it have a plug going into the bottom of it with several wires coming out?
    1993 Chevy c1500 silverado, 2/4 drop, 2" cowl, roll pan, shaved, 357ci 4 bolt, .520/.228 hydraulic roller, dart iron vortecs ported & polished, 750 carb, 412hp 442 tq, ez-tcu, 4L60E 2200 stall, 3.73 posi

    ***SOLD***

  12. #32
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Waterford, pa
    Posts
    9

    Re: How To: TBI to Carb and 4L60E Control

    Yes it does. What I'm gathering from this transmission is that it's kind of in between a 700r4 and a 4l60e in terms of technology. There is something with this that is electronic because I could never adjust a kickdown so off that it would just go into the gear I put it in. It'd shift really fast maybe, but say I put it in 2nd gear it would still start in 1st and just shift to 2nd gear fast if it is too loose. With this truck, when you put it in 3rd at a dead stop, your starting in 3rd. I can't get it to start in first no matter what I do. There is also no kickdown when you tromp on it. So you have to hand shift it and those shifts are nice and crisp. There is nothing wrong with the transmission internally unless it broke when it was sitting still while I put the intake and carb on. P.s, appreciate the response times and input!!!

  13. #33
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Florida
    Age
    23
    Posts
    190

    Re: How To: TBI to Carb and 4L60E Control

    That all sounds like black magic to me, unless its a 4l60e with a controller and the controller is messed up I can't think of anything else :/
    1993 Chevy c1500 silverado, 2/4 drop, 2" cowl, roll pan, shaved, 357ci 4 bolt, .520/.228 hydraulic roller, dart iron vortecs ported & polished, 750 carb, 412hp 442 tq, ez-tcu, 4L60E 2200 stall, 3.73 posi

    ***SOLD***

  14. #34
    Registered User Doober's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Catalina, AZ/Swartz Creek, MI
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,586

    Re: How To: TBI to Carb and 4L60E Control

    On the other hand it may be the gear selector. Does the cable go to a box on the left side of the trans, and the cable is mounted to the trans via a bracket held on by a couple pan bolts? If so it is likely a 4L60E. The TV cable goes into the trans case on the right (passenger) side, gear selector goes on the left (driver) side and the cable goes through the firewall up to the steering column... I'll bet if you follow the cable under the dash that's where it goes.

    '92 Sierra (TBI 383/Vortecs/Comp 08-412-8/EBL/4L60/3.08s), '78 Malibu (Vortec'd 350/4-speed/2.29s), '87 Pontiac Fiero GT (2.8 v6/5-speed)


  15. #35
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Waterford, pa
    Posts
    9

    Re: How To: TBI to Carb and 4L60E Control

    Just wondering though....do 4l60e's have the tv cable at all? I keep getting mixed answers

  16. #36
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Waterford, pa
    Posts
    9

    Re: How To: TBI to Carb and 4L60E Control

    My best guess is that that "kickdown" cable is actually a tps because it goes into a box on the firewall on the drivers side and only wires come out. SO that takes care of one sensors that I would need. What else operates the tranny? My second guess is that there is no line pressure becaue there is no power to the electronically controlled valve body but I'm just guessing. This is where you guys come in! I've heard that I have to hook up the purple/white wire that used to go into the back of the distributor to a tach wire to read rpms...what else needs to be hooked up besides that that you guys have done. Like I said, I've unhooked all the sensors that were up on the motor.

  17. #37
    Registered User Doober's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Catalina, AZ/Swartz Creek, MI
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,586

    Re: How To: TBI to Carb and 4L60E Control

    Is it up above the brake booster? If so it's the cruise control. A TV cable would attach to the opposite side of the pedal cable on the throttle lever, not the same side. The 4L60E only has a cable for the shifter.

    This is a cruise control module, the piece sticking out is what's left of the cable.

    '92 Sierra (TBI 383/Vortecs/Comp 08-412-8/EBL/4L60/3.08s), '78 Malibu (Vortec'd 350/4-speed/2.29s), '87 Pontiac Fiero GT (2.8 v6/5-speed)


  18. #38
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Florida
    Age
    23
    Posts
    190

    Re: How To: TBI to Carb and 4L60E Control

    I was thinking the same thing, sounds like you probably have a 4l60e and the tps and other sensors are no longer connected so that's where I would assume your problem is. Get a 700r4 or a trans controller, I recommend the 700r4 as the easier and more reliable option. I've had to replace my cable operated tps and control box twice already in less than a year.
    1993 Chevy c1500 silverado, 2/4 drop, 2" cowl, roll pan, shaved, 357ci 4 bolt, .520/.228 hydraulic roller, dart iron vortecs ported & polished, 750 carb, 412hp 442 tq, ez-tcu, 4L60E 2200 stall, 3.73 posi

    ***SOLD***

  19. #39
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Waterford, pa
    Posts
    9

    Re: How To: TBI to Carb and 4L60E Control

    Ok sounds good thanks guys! And yes that is definitely the box. Cruise control never even crossed my mind. And I already have a 700r4 on the way. I am a fan of the simple things and I am not a fan of electronics...there are no shorts or broken wires with nuts/bolts and cables. This is why I talked him into a carb.

  20. #40
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Waterford, pa
    Posts
    9

    Re: How To: TBI to Carb and 4L60E Control

    Ok one last question...why can't I put 700r4 internals in the 4l60e to make it mechanical?

 

 
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •