***Login to the Forum here ***

Support FSC and see no ads! - Click Here

2000 escalade w/ 5.7L fuel pump inop

This is a discussion on 2000 escalade w/ 5.7L fuel pump inop within the Technical / Maintenance forums, part of the General Discussion category; Thought the truck was a little quiet when i turned the key this morning, sure enough, fuel pump is not ...

Exclamation 2000 escalade w/ 5.7L fuel pump inop

Support FSC and see no ads! - Click Here
    Thought the truck was a little quiet when i turned the key this morning, sure enough, fuel pump is not charging. Actually, fuel pump is not running at all. I have removed the fuel pump relay under the hood, hooked it up to a 12v source, and it checks good. I can't seem to get my hands up around the connector good enough to disconnect it at the top of the tank. I'd drop the tank, but i just filled it. Also, i have never done it before, and not sure how far i can drop it without damaging the aluminum lines that go into it? Is there some kind of a fuse or something other than the relay? Fuseable link or something? Any help would be appreciated seeing how that is my only ride, and i'm stuck at home now.

Re: 2000 escalade w/ 5.7L fuel pump inop

you should be able to drop it about 8 - 10 inches without a problem. Check the connectors at the pump and the wiring leading to the pump. Unfortunately this is a common issue in these trucks (the pump dies). I did mine 2 years ago, and since then I change my fuel filter every 12k and never let the tank run below 1/4. The gas keeps the pump cool, if you drive it often on E it'll kill your pump in no time
    Last edited by 99SLT; 09-23-2006 at 12:18 PM.

How much is a pump going to run me if i do the job myself? Or how much would you guess a shop would charge me? What would be a good method of empying the fuel out, of course, i just filled it, and only have 40 miles on the tank!!!