***Login to the Forum here ***

Support FSC and see no ads! - Click Here
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Change odometer to Kilometer?

This is a discussion on Change odometer to Kilometer? within the Technical / Maintenance forums, part of the General Discussion category; I just got my truck home from Florida to Sweden. Want to change the odometer to kilometer. I got an ...

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    10

    Change odometer to Kilometer?


    Support FSC and see no ads! - Click Here
    I just got my truck home from Florida to Sweden.
    Want to change the odometer to kilometer.

    I got an interface but no software for it.

    Can a service station with the Tech 2 system help me?

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,189

    Re: Change odometer to Kilometer?

    Quote Originally Posted by Thullen
    I just got my truck home from Florida to Sweden.
    Want to change the odometer to kilometer.

    I got an interface but no software for it.

    Can a service station with the Tech 2 system help me?
    I thought all you had to do was push and hold the button on the odometer that you use for resetting the trip metter. I was thinking you just push it and hold it until it changes. I could be wrong, but I know some vehicles are that way.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    MI/AZ
    Posts
    5,566

    Re: Change odometer to Kilometer?

    What year, model?????

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    10

    Re: Change odometer to Kilometer?

    Sorry.
    It's a silverado year 2000

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    MI/AZ
    Posts
    5,566

    Re: Change odometer to Kilometer?

    The conversion has to be done by a certified shop & most dealers farm it out. A sticker will have to be put on the door jamb stating the correct mileage by federal law. If this isnt done you are liable if & when the vehicle is sold.
    The fine is $250000.
    Look for a shop that repairs speedos.
    A Tech 2 cannot alter mileage.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Woodstock Ontario Canada
    Age
    38
    Posts
    8,263

    Re: Change odometer to Kilometer?

    Simply buy a Canadian cluster, I bought an American 130 mph Piolice PAckage tahoe cluster from a wrecking yard for $85.

    You can get a standard Canadian speedo cluster for dirt cheap.
    Simply pull out the roller odometer and set it to whatever your mileage converts to in kilometers.

    1.609 km in a mile. 100,000 miles equals 160,900 kms.


    OOPS I just read you have a 2000 digital odo. Buy a Canadian cluster and have teh dealership reprogram it. Its not a big deal.

    Who cares about American laws when you are in Sweden??lol

    peace
    Hog
    97 GMC 2wd RCSB 5.7, s10 2700 footstall, Hooker 24621hkr LT's , 2.5" cats dual 4"pipes exit B4 pass. side tire, custom driveshaft 3.42 G80 FIPK MAF descreen GM/Mercruiser Marine intake manifold 29lb LS2(EV6) injectors Ed Wright PCM(best mod), LT4 KM 14.8@94mph 2.007 4000lbs 122mph

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    10

    Re: Change odometer to Kilometer?

    I'm not going to change the mileage.
    I want it to show it in kilometers.
    Now the output is in miles.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,189

    Re: Change odometer to Kilometer?

    Quote Originally Posted by Thullen
    I'm not going to change the mileage.
    I want it to show it in kilometers.
    Now the output is in miles.
    Did you try what I suggested ?? I am pretty sure kilometers are already on it. I will try it on mine when I get home. My 86 cavalier Z-24 had both on it and you could switch it back and forth. You can even change the language on the words in the odometer to spanish and such.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Woodstock Ontario Canada
    Age
    38
    Posts
    8,263

    Re: Change odometer to Kilometer?

    Quote Originally Posted by Thullen
    I'm not going to change the mileage.
    I want it to show it in kilometers.
    Now the output is in miles.
    EXACTLY get a Canadian speedo cluster and program your current mileage (pre converted into kilometers) into teh Canadian cluster.

    Canadian clusters read in metric or km's KPA, or C
    US clusters read in Imperial or miles, psi. or F

    You are looking for a magical switch that converts from miles to kms that simply doesnt exist.

    GET A CANADIAN TRUCK SPEEDO CLUSTER AND HAVE IT PROGRAMMED TO READ YOUR MILEAGE CONVERTED INTO KM'S.

    If your mileage is currently 86,974 MILES, get teh Canadian cluster with 139,941 kms programmed into the ODOmeter.

    I could probably set this up for you as I do live in Canada and know so GM dealership guys.

    PM me my friend.

    peace
    Hog
    Last edited by Pauly; 04-09-2007 at 11:12 AM.
    97 GMC 2wd RCSB 5.7, s10 2700 footstall, Hooker 24621hkr LT's , 2.5" cats dual 4"pipes exit B4 pass. side tire, custom driveshaft 3.42 G80 FIPK MAF descreen GM/Mercruiser Marine intake manifold 29lb LS2(EV6) injectors Ed Wright PCM(best mod), LT4 KM 14.8@94mph 2.007 4000lbs 122mph

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    10

    Re: Change odometer to Kilometer?

    I will try to get a Swedish/Canadian cluster from the junkyard
    And have it programmed with my current mileage

    Thank you all for your help.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Woodstock Ontario Canada
    Age
    38
    Posts
    8,263

    Re: Change odometer to Kilometer?

    Quote Originally Posted by Thullen
    I will try to get a Swedish/Canadian cluster from the junkyard
    And have it programmed with my current mileage

    Thank you all for your help.
    OK my friend, sounds great. If you have any problems finding a metric speedo cluster, PM me and I will get 1 from the delaership/salvage yard, get it programmed and ship it to you.

    take care.

    peace
    PAuly
    97 GMC 2wd RCSB 5.7, s10 2700 footstall, Hooker 24621hkr LT's , 2.5" cats dual 4"pipes exit B4 pass. side tire, custom driveshaft 3.42 G80 FIPK MAF descreen GM/Mercruiser Marine intake manifold 29lb LS2(EV6) injectors Ed Wright PCM(best mod), LT4 KM 14.8@94mph 2.007 4000lbs 122mph

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,189

    Re: Change odometer to Kilometer?

    Quote Originally Posted by Pauly
    EXACTLY get a Canadian speedo cluster and program your current mileage (pre converted into kilometers) into teh Canadian cluster.

    Canadian clusters read in metric or km's KPA, or C
    US clusters read in Imperial or miles, psi. or F

    You are looking for a magical switch that converts from miles to kms that simply doesnt exist.

    GET A CANADIAN TRUCK SPEEDO CLUSTER AND HAVE IT PROGRAMMED TO READ YOUR MILEAGE CONVERTED INTO KM'S.

    If your mileage is currently 86,974 MILES, get teh Canadian cluster with 139,941 kms programmed into the ODOmeter.

    I could probably set this up for you as I do live in Canada and know so GM dealership guys.

    PM me my friend.

    peace
    Hog
    I could have sworn it was already in there, but it must just be the language. I also remember on my cavalier it has a digital speedometer and that is probably all it converted to kilometers.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •