If you are not able to login to the forum, please Contact Us here to let us know. Thanks!

Support FSC and see no ads! - Click Here

95 Z71 Losing power

This is a discussion on 95 Z71 Losing power within the Technical / Maintenance forums, part of the General Discussion category; I am quite new to this but I need help. I have a 95 Z71 Silverado 5 liter tbi. On ...

95 Z71 Losing power

Support FSC and see no ads! - Click Here
    I am quite new to this but I need help. I have a 95 Z71 Silverado 5 liter tbi. On start up it idles ruff like its missing the colder the air temp the worse it runs. As the engine heats up it gets better but never great. If you floor it at idle or 60 mph it just goes flat and loses power BAD! It reminds me of an open choke on a cold boat motor, it runs just no power. As long as ur gentle on the throttle it runs fine. This just started out of nowhere and the fuel milage has went to total crap!! Along with all of that it has stopped shifting on its own (auto trans) you have to let off the throtytle and it shifts fine. Any help at all would be a life saver. Thanks

Re: 95 Z71 Losing power

Update!! While looking for the engine stamp to confirm engine, I found a cracked exhaust manifold. I am sure this isn't the main problem, but how big of a problem is this?

Anyone's opinion would be much appreciated. I have concluded that it is a lack of air problem. Im thinking maybe air/idle control, vaccum, O2 sensor. Advice on where to start?

Registered User Midwest Militia's Avatar

Sounds more like your timing is off.

92 Silverado ECSB TBI 5.7, 4L60, Limited Slip, AC Delete, Edelbrock Air Cleaner, True Dual Straights, Toolbox, Debadged, Cragar Soft 8s, replacing everything one part at a time...

Loves GMT400 haters someotherguy's Avatar

Check timing, check fuel pressure, and replace the exhaust manifold if it's bugging you.