GM Inside - Ford Inside - Ford Ranger - Jeep - American Muscle

Support FSC and see no ads! - Click Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

'94 5.7 TBI wont start, engine flooded?

This is a discussion on '94 5.7 TBI wont start, engine flooded? within the Technical / Maintenance forums, part of the General Discussion category; Hey guys, This is my first time owning a truck, and first time on a forum, so please bear with ...

'94 5.7 TBI wont start, engine flooded?

Support FSC and see no ads! - Click Here
    Hey guys,

This is my first time owning a truck, and first time on a forum, so please bear with me. I have a '92 K1500 4x4 with a '94 5.7 TBI motor(154k). I noticed that most of the times I tried to accelerate, the engine "bucks" or falls on its face. Sometimes if I push hard on the pedal, she'll respond strong, but usually you have to feather the gas just right. Biggest time she falls, is on the hwy. So, I pulled it in my garage to take a look at it, and went to start it up..nothing. Just cranks, wont start

Checked the fuel filter- Ok.
    Checked 4 spark plugs- One was COVERED in gas, the others had a light coating, but still present.
    Checked for spark- Ok.
    Checked ECT sensor- Bad. Post was worn down one one side. Replaced.

Heres where im currently stuck. If my engine is flooded, I cant check if the sensor was my original problem
    Ive been told that holding down the pedal while starting, sends the engine into flood mode, which makes the air/fuel ratio leaner, but all that did was kill my battery, and I suspect, flood the engine more.

Someone also said to take all the plugs out and let it dry, but it is about 30 degrees here, and from what I thought, it would take warmer temp air to evaporate the gas. And while they're out to try cranking it to force out the gas, but that seems flammable (potentially), and the more I try cranking over, kills my battery more.