GM Inside - Ford Inside - Ford Ranger - Jeep - American Muscle

Support FSC and see no ads! - Click Here

2003 Silverado No Start, PK3 bypass?!

This is a discussion on 2003 Silverado No Start, PK3 bypass?! within the Technical / Maintenance forums, part of the General Discussion category; Hey everybody, I'm new, my name is Jordan. I was an auto tech for 7 years, and have left the ...

2003 Silverado No Start, PK3 bypass?!

Support FSC and see no ads! - Click Here
    Hey everybody, I'm new, my name is Jordan. I was an auto tech
    for 7 years, and have left the line for an office job (going on 3 years).
    I may be a little on the rusty side, but this thing is making me scratch
    my head more than the usual issue.

I'm working on a truck with a no start condition.
    First off its a wiring nightmare, the previous owner had a system, alarm,
    strobes, loud speaker, all wired into the factory harnesses at various points.
    Now that I've gotten all that sorted out and isolated the actual GM circuits, here's what
    happens: (Updated)
    Key goes into the ignition, turn to acc, all accessories come on, turn to run, gauges all come on and
    then to start, no click, no nothing.
    I now have the relay working and clicking over (Previously not working due to aftermarket wiring nightmare). ignition switch is new. I found 3.1 ohms between the small starter solenoid wire to the relay. Starter has been bench tested and is good.
    Last edited by Rubberberner; 07-14-2012 at 05:11 PM.

Re: 2003 Silverado No Start, PK3 bypass?!

Verified the relay is getting power from the power side of the control coil, other side is supplied ground by the ignition switch.
    Verified the relay is in correct working condition, and tried to swap it. but the problem is the control leg of the relay going to the PCM